Lake Windermere, England

Happy Holidays, loves! Speaking of holidays, this blog post will be dedicated to the second stop on our European “holiday” as the Brits call it, Windermere, England!

After three days in Scotland, my parents and I hopped on a train (which is a very common mode of transportation across the pond) and ended up right outside of the Lake District in England. At the train station, we met up with our pre-arranged taxi driver, Lee! Note for first time travelers: line up all forms of transportation from one stop to the next before ever leaving for your trip. It will make everything SO much smoother!

After about a 45-minute taxi ride through the hilly and narrow English terrain, we ended up at the cutest hotel in the middle of nowhere on Lake Windermere!

Anyone that knows me knows that as soon as I saw the lake, I had to get on it! (Not in it only because it was too cold!) So we dropped our bags and immediately went out and rented a row boat for a few hours. After rowing in many circles and almost hitting several docked boats, I finally got the hang of rowing while mom took it easy.

Screen Shot 2017-12-19 at 9.14.20 PM
My mama is the cutest. 

Screen Shot 2017-12-19 at 9.14.09 PM

After an exciting and exhausting few hours on the lake, we were starving! We decided that we would go in, clean up, and go out to eat! There was just one problem….this hotel was in the middle of NOWHERE and the only option for food was the FANCY hotel restaurant. Let’s just say we spent a little more than expected on dinner but the food was totally worth it!

food in wind
Steak and Sweet Potato Fries – YUM!

After dinner, we hit the hay so that we could get a fresh start in the morning!

On Day 2 in Windermere, we took a boat to the larger town along the lake, Bowness. In Bowness, I got to do my favorite thing in the whole wide world….PADDLEBOARD! Mom and Dad also rented a kayak.

paddleboard

me

After paddleboarding, we walked and shopped around Bowness and finished the day with a wonderful Italian meal and a boat trip back to our little town along the lake.

On our third and final day in Windermere, we went on a very long, breathtaking, historical hike. Our hiking trail took us through sheep pastures, an old quaint town, and forested areas.

hike
Look at this view ft. my dad with his walking stick lol
hike winder
Sheep Pastures

After the hike, we decided to rest for a bit and then go exploring one more time before our time in Windermere was up! I was able to capture this beaut of a pic shown below that I feel sums up the views and aesthetic of wonderful Windermere!
view wind

Stay tuned for my next blog: Liverpool, England

Safe Travels,

Sabrina S.

 

Leave a comment